Month: January 2017

Post-Secondary Teleconference

Posted on

From: Jeremy Greenberg [mailto:Jeremy.Greenberg@uoit.ca] Sent: January-31-17 4:22 PM

Hi Post-Secondary Counsellors,

I am emailing to invite you to a teleconference call about Post-Secondary Counselling Outcome Measures on Tuesday March 7, 2017.

The call will be guided by these 5 questions below:

  1. What outcome measures are currently-commonly being used, or have been planned, at your institutions and across Canada?
  2. How we can use outcome measures to improve counselling?
  3. How can outcome measures be used to manage client flow?
  4. How can we help counseling colleagues who may perceive outcome measure as a barrier?
  5. Is there interest in a national normative data base about the most common measures?

If you are interested in participating please call 1.855.238.3698 pin 64113 on

Tuesday March 7th at your time zoned time below:

PST 10 a.m. MST 11 a.m. CST 12 p.m. EST 1 p.m.

AST 2 p.m. NST 2:30 p.m.

 

Hope to hear you then.

Thanks

Jeremy Greenberg, Psychotherapist – Counsellor Student Mental Health Services UOIT

Advertisements

Webinar: Indigenous Cultural Safety

Posted on

Ontario Indigenous Cultural Safety (ICS) Team has been working in partnership to offer a National ICS Webinar Series. This month’s webinar, Racism, Reconciliation and Indigenous Cultural Safety, is truly exciting as we will be hosting the CBC’s Shelagh Rogers in a live interview with the Honourable Justice, Senator Murray Sinclair, chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission!

http://soahac.on.ca/national-ics-webinar-learning-series/

Undocumented Students 2017: The New Administration & What It Means for This Special Population

Posted on

Undocumented Students 2017:
The New Administration & What It Means for This Special Population

Wednesday, February 1st • 2-3:30 pm (ET)

As a new administration prepares to take office on January 20, a sense of anxiety and fear has set in with undocumented students and their families. With much that remains uncertain, many universities are preparing for the worst by declaring themselves sanctuary campuses and creating safeguards to protect students. Higher education institutions are grappling with the uncertain future of the Deferred Action for Childhood (DACA) program and how this will impact students’ futures. Yet there are state-level policies such as in-state tuition and financial aid that remain in place. Confusion and uncertainty are at a high.

Join our expert presenter, Tatyana Kleyn, as she provides an overview of any early changes under the Trump administration, as well steps you can take to ensure the safety and continued education of your undocumented students.
You’ll learn how your undocumented students could be impacted by the new administration, measures that you can take to safeguard your undocumented students and how to prepare for the potential removal of the Deferred Action for Childhood (DACA) program.

Participation Outcomes

As a result of this webinar, you will be able to:

  • Understand the changes undertaken early in the new administration and how that will impact undocumented students. Take appropriate action steps that will keep your students safe and provide confidence that they have your support.
  • Prepare for the removal of the Deferred Action for Childhood (DACA) program (if necessary) and avoid scrambling at the last moment.
  • Provide educational and socio-emotional support to your undocumented students — help alleviate confusion and uncertainty.

MORE INFORMATION